fitness should be natural

Grains

In a previous post, entitled the Pillars of Health, I vilified all grains. I would like to amend that post somewhat. Since writing that post, I have come to find out that I am gluten sensitive and breakout with cystic acne of the worst kind after consuming large amounts of gluten. I blame this sensitivity for a good portion of my weight gain in college. I also believe that when I went to a no grain diet and I lost a lot of weight, it had more to do with cutting out gluten than it did with cutting out carbohydrate. I have since added gluten free grains back into my diet, and shed another 5 lbs.

However, I do stand by my original post in saying that grains are a likely culprit in America’s obesity epidemic. While I no longer think grains themselves are inherently bad for you, I do think that moderation and quality are key. Despite what the government may tell you, you DO NOT need 11 servings of grains a day to function. Humans need as little as 150g carbohydrate a day to avoid ketosis. I recommend around 250g of carbohydrate a day for individuals at a healthy place with their weight, and 200g for those trying to lose weight. To give you and idea of what that looks like, it is about 2 servings of grains a day in addition to 3 servings of fruit, and 5ish (depends on the veggie) of vegetables. I also recommend carbohydrate tapering. See, Carbohydrate is simply a fuel source for your body, and you can only store about 2500 calories worth of carbohydrate. This means that when your carbohydrate tanks are full, any excess gets converted to fat, which is useful in a number of ways to your body, and enjoys unlimited storage. So I tell clients to eat those two grain servings over breakfast and lunch, enjoying only fruit meat and veggies for dinner. This allows your body to burn excess carbohydrate for energy during the day, instead of simply storing is as fat at the end of the day.

That’s all for today!

J

 

P.S. One thing I run into with my clients, is them telling me they NEED a carb with dinner. You do not NEED it. You WANT it. If you are trying to lose weight, you NEED to be honest with yourself and realize the difference between a WANT and a NEED. Just a pet peeve of mine.

Leave a Reply

